What Is Reiki?

What Is Reiki?

What is Reiki

Reiki is an alternative therapeutic modality that promotes healing, stress reduction and relaxation. The focus of Reiki is on clearing and cleansing toxic energies of the body and bringing the body to a neutral or positive state.

The Reiki practitioner is trained to clear energies and “attuned” to the universal life force energy, believed to be found in everything on earth, (people, plants, inanimate objects, etc), and able to send it directly to the recipient. This practice can be done one on one, in a group, in person, or from a distance. Here are some basics of how your Reiki session will go:

What Happens In A Reiki Session:

During the Reiki session, you’ll lay facing up or facing down (fully clothed) while the practitioner may guide you through some visualization and meditation. Concurrently, the practitioner lays their hands above the recipient and focuses on clearing the negative energy and channeling the life force energy. Some practitioners use tuning forks or crystals throughout the session.

Energy Based Alternative Therapy

Humans have an ever-changing energetic field. You can sense it and feel it almost as if it were a tangible thing. When you walk into a room of celebration, you feel joy. When you pass someone on the street who is angry you may feel that and later on be angry yourself. Emotions are fueled by energy and are shared as our own energetic field comes into contact with others. This is one of the ways our energies can become off balance, and where a Reiki session can be beneficial.  


Human energetic fields are based on “chakra points” located throughout the body. There are seven Main chakras, each associated to a color and personified by the below:

  1. Crown chakra – violet – connection to the divine
  2. Third eye chakra – indigo – vision creativity
  3. Throat chakra – light blue – expression of personal truth,
  4. Heart chakra – Green – expression of love to self and others,
  5. Solar plexus chakra – yellow – relationships with self,
  6. Sacral chakra – Orange – relationship with others,
  7. Root chakra – red – health security safety.

Each chakra should spin or “rotate energy” as it is sometimes referred.  If one chakra is blocked this can affect the other chakras below. A lack of rotation or blockage in one of the chakras may present itself in a physical pain or an ailment within the body. A healthy flow of energy between chakras creates balance.

When the chakras are out of balance a Reiki practitioner can use their skills to help realign the chakras, remove negative energies and restore balance to the body. Reiki has no negative side effects. During a session, the client may feel calm and relaxed, may feel warmth from the practitioners’ hands hovering over a certain area or they might feel a coolness or tingling sensation. Reiki is not religious and will not interfere with present religious beliefs, however it does require an active commitment to improve oneself in order for it to be a successful Reiki session. Feeling out of balance, contact us today to book a Reiki or Reiki Plus session.  

If you liked this, please share!

Leave a Reply